Tags

, , , , ,


From our fantastic fall vacation

From our family to yours, Happy Holidays!

I’m not sure where the time has gone, but a new year is upon us, and I am days away from the start of a new semester.  Last semester became very intense for me, and all non-essential tasks and activities came to a halt.  The short list included all blogging.  I got by just fine, but it took making more sacrifices, getting more focused, and really hard work.  It all paid off though!  I did not have a mental breakdown, and I received my highest semester GPA to date!

The children grow more with each passing day, and I find myself wondering what it means to have a house of kids instead of babies and toddlers.  I am so proud of them, and they amaze me with each passing day.  We have really buckled down expenses here, and made an attempt to refinance the house, but alas, we are under water in our mortgage.  Foreclosures and poorly maintained homes that sold recently in our neighborhood caused the value of our home to sink even lower.  It’s so frustrating when we are continually improving the house (new windows, refinished floors, new doors, remodeled bath… the list seems endless), but on paper, it is worth so very little right now.  Looks like no relief in sight.

Recently, a new light at the end of the tunnel!  I have not had enough work hours to contribute to our living expenses.  I heard back from a job I applied for, and I am currently in the interview process!  If I get this job, we will not only make it comfortably through summer, we can save enough to help through one whole semester!!! Not ready to reveal what that job is until I have it secured.  So… stay tuned!! (I am really, really excited about the work it’s self, my favorite kind!)

Lastly, I had a chance to really relax this break, and celebrate how far I have come in my education.  My husband and I popped a bottle of champagne to mark the half way point!  Three full semesters down, three to go!  Life is looking up, is yours too?

