Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


It’s been a big week for me, and some pretty big changes.  One for sure that I really hadn’t planned on.  It’s been overwhelming at times, but exciting all the same.  Tuesday was my first day of class.  It was wonderful to be running around on the beautiful expansive grounds and know that I belong here.  What a privilege, to be studying under some of the countries best nursing instructors.  I hope to not take any of my time here for granted.  Myself and my family simply have too much vested to let it go wasted. 

My day started by saying goodbye to the nanny, jumping in the car, and my loving husband dropping me off at the transit station at a blurry eyed 06:55.  I caught a different bus than I had intended which led to a little motion sickness as we abruptly speed up and braked through downtown Minneapolis.  If I’d taken the correct bus, the downtown exits would have been skipped.  What I love about taking the bus is that I always arrive on campus with plenty of time to get to class, that is if I know where I am going!  Half way to campus, I realized that I have left my little note with class room numbers and buildings at home!   I had a little impromptu “Mission Impossible” moment as I raced to find the nursing student computer lounge (as I did not know where any other one was located as a new student), log into my student access page, look up my class schedule, transcribe the class locations, and dash off to find my first class.  I had about 4 minuets to get there on time!  Luck was on my side and I managed to find my lab lecture room about two minutes before we began.  A little more excitement in the first ten minutes of my college career than I would have liked.

However, the day went by pretty well after that, and I enjoyed my classes.  It helps that my physiology course will be largely review for me this semester.  I will still need to apply myself and do the work, but it should not be any great strain.  Also, my anatomy course is about half review thanks to my background working with the pathologist at my former job.  My professional nursing classes of course will be new material, but I am hoping exposure to medical practice and professionalism will prove good prerequisite for this work.  All of this is good, but then there was the surprise.

In the course of the week it became clear that maintaining my hospital position was no longer an option.  For reasons I don’t care to discuss, my resignation letter was both handed in and excepted.  My laboratory work was not something I expected to be walking away from at the very start of my student career, but also necessary.  It will be a difficult two weeks for me as I close that chapter in my life so unexpectedly.  Change is hard and at times painful.  Six years of my professional career are simply over, just like that.  I do not foresee ever stepping back into a lab as an employee although I am certified for work until June of 2013.  It’s still hard to grasp that I will no longer be doing manual WBC differentials, or assisting in bone marrow procedures, or helping out HUCs on the phone with lab orders.  This huge section of knowledge that I posses no longer has much use to me.  Good bye lab, you will truly be missed.

One chapter closes, another opens, and life goes on.  It is clear now that my full-time job truly is to be a student.  It is taking all my time, and all my energy.  I look forward to what comes next, and I am ready with an open mind and an open heart.

